Grades 1- 6

RCL – Resources for Christian Living; Allen, Texas; 20011


Doctrine:  Each year four units correlating to the Catechism of the Catholic Church are

developed according to the particular grade level.

  • We Believe—Creed
  • We Worship — Liturgy and Sacraments
  • We Live —Morality
  • We Pray — Prayer and Spirituality.

Sacred Scripture:   is in each lesson with special Scripture chapters in each unit to deepen the child’s understanding and challenge them to live the biblical message.

Liturgy: Children are introduced to the rich and varied tradition of the Church’s prayer and worship including seasonal lessons to help children and families explore and celebrate these feasts of the Church year.

Prayer and Learning: In addition to the texts mentioned, each grade level has specific prayers or topics regarding our Church doctrine to be learned.  Our expectation is that these prayers and topics  are reinforced regularly at home.

Grade 1: Children at this age are learning to talk to God from their heart and learning formal prayers of the Church, such as The Sign of the Cross, Our Father, and Hail Mary.  The Rosary is introduced.  Activity:  Advent Adventure.

Grade 2: Children in second grade are preparing for the sacraments of Eucharist and Reconciliation.  Prayers:  Act of Sorrow (Act of Contrition), Prayer responses of the Mass, an introduction to the 10 Commandments.  Activity:  Eucharist Event.

 Grade 3:  Apostles Creed,  Glory Be, and development of the 10 Commandments, in addition to all previously listed prayers,   Activity:  Nativity Prayer Service.

Grade 4:  Beatitudes, mastering 10 Commandments, Prayer of St. Francis, all previously listed prayers.

 Grade 5:  Stations of the Cross, Seven Sacraments, all previously listed prayers.  Activity: Living Stations.

Grade 6:  Blessings, Psalms of praise, Prayer of Peace from St. Francis, all previously listed prayers.    Activity:  Retreat experience.